Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Did You Know?

Dufferin County, ON (OPP - Dufferin Detachment) Policing responsibility in Ontario is shared by the OPP, 52 municipal and/or regional police services, and nine (9) self-directed First Nation police services. OPP jurisdiction includes geographic areas under direct OPP policing including 324 Ontario municipalities, some of which have transitioned with their records and files to the OPP in recent years, along with 38 First Nations communities the OPP polices directly or for which it administers policing.

The 52 jurisdictions that are not policed by the OPP are independent or regional municipalities within the Province of Ontario that receive policing services under terms of the Police Services Act. These are self-funded, stand-alone municipal or regional police services covering their respective geographic boundaries.